Athletes’ Commission Elections 305 Registered Voters from 43 Members

The elections for the BWF Athletes’ Commission 2021 – 2025 will take place tomorrow Friday 17 December 2021 (see our memo of 8 December (linked here).

The period for badminton players to register to vote, closed at 17:00 on Wednesday 15 December. A total 305 players from 43 Member Associations are eligible to take part in the Athletes’ Commission elections tomorrow.

Please find the list of the “registered voters” who can take part in the elections tomorrow – here. These eligible voters have been sent the link and password to their individual email addresses.

The poll opens at 17:00 KL time (10:00am CET) and closes 5 hours later at 22:00 KL time (15:00 CET). Registered


There are 9 candidates for 6 positions. See the profiles of the 9 candidates.

Registration / Validation / Voting / Results

Rules for Elections / Procedures

  1. Only eligible voters can take part in the elections (see below).
  2. Each eligible voter must register themselves to take part in the elections.
  3. Each Member Associations will validate their list of eligible voters.
  4. The final list of eligible voters will be published on the BWF website.
  5. The final list will be sent to the IT company who provides the online voting system.
  6. An independent scrutineer will check the master list loaded into the online voting system.
  7. Each voter will receive a link and login details to vote in the elections.
  8. Each registered voter must cast their own vote. No one can vote on behalf of others.
  9. This is a secret ballot.
  10. The poll will be open for 5 hours – 17:00 – 22:00 KL time on 17 February 2021.
  11. Those voting must vote for exactly 6 candidates (not more / not less).
  12. This is a secret ballot.
  13. The female and the male with the highest number of votes are automatically elected. The next 4 candidates with the highest number of votes will fill the other 4 vacant positions.
  14. Results including the number of votes will be announced by the BWF on Saturday 18 December 2021.


Sometime after the elections, the new Athletes’ Commission will meet and elect the Chair / Deputy Chair. The Chair becomes a member of the BWF Council (2021 -2025).

Who is Eligible to Vote

Badminton players who:

  • Are 18 years or older on 17 December 2021.
  • Ranked in the top 200 (BWF World Ranking as at 14 December).
  • In ‘good standing’ / not serving a period of ineligibility
  • Register online before 17:00 Kuala Lumpur Time – Wednesday 15 December in order to take part in the elections.