Para badminton Athletes' Commission

Athletes’ Commission

Para badminton Athletes’ Commission 

The elections for the Para Badminton Athletes’ Commission took place on Friday 11 March 2022 and six members were elected to the Commission (2022 – 2025).

The role of the Para badminton Athletes’ Commission is to:

  • liaise with players, organise players meetings at tournaments and canvas their views and opinions on rules and regulations, development and direction of Para badminton.
  • represent the views of Para badminton athletes at Para badminton Commission meetings through its representatives;
  • report back to the players on outcomes of meetings and representations made at the Para badminton Commission meetings.


The Chair and Deputy Chair of the BWF Para Badminton Athletes’ Commission sit on the BWF Para badminton Commission (linked here).  The BWF Para Badminton Commission provides expert advice to the BWF on the training, development and competition needs of those participating and competing in Para badminton.

The BWF Para Badminton Athletes’ Commission is distinct from the Athletes’ Commission (linked here) which is elected by the badminton player group.

Richard Perot (FRA) – Chair

Re-elected to the Commission in 2022 for a four-year term, Richard has served two terms as Chair of the Commission for two terms, 2013 – 2017 and 2017 – 2021.

Richard was appointed an IPC Proud Paralympian Educator in September 2018 and has since 2010, had a long involvement in Para badminton as a player and administrator.

As chair of the BWF Para badminton Commission for the past four years, Richard has put in place the athletes Facebook, organised player’s meetings, represented Para badminton athletes’ opinions at the IPC, at BWF Para Commission meetings and BWF Council (July 2020 to December 2021) and at a wide range of events.

He is President and founder of FRAP since 2011 (France Para badminton) and he has been working in France with the French Badminton Federation to establish and develop a national team and structure for the sport. He was a member of the Badminton Europe Para Commission (2014-2017).

Raul Anguiano (GUA) – Deputy Chair

First elected to the Commission in 2017, Raùl was Deputy Chair of the Commission (2017 – 2021) and re-elected in 2022.

An active player since 2005 (SL 4 Sport Class), Raùl has been a pioneer for Para badminton in the Pan Am region – a five-times singles champion in SL 4 at the Para Badminton Pan-American Championships, gold medallist in singles at the Lima 2019 Para Pan-American Games and ranked world No.1 in singles class SL 4 in the years 2007, 2011 and 2013.

Part of the organising committee for the BWF Para badminton World Championships 2011 in Guatemala City, Raùl was the recipient of the Jose Luis Campo Award in 2019 as the best Para-athlete of the Americas Continent.

Raùl was appointed and IPC Proud Paralympian Educator in September 2018.

Daniel Chan (HKG)

A member of the Para Badminton Athletes Commission (BPAC) for four years (2017 – 2021), Daniel was re-elected to the Commission in 2022. Daniel is an active on the international circuit and 13 years Para badminton experience completing nearly 300 international matches with 63 international medals.

A Paralympian and bronze medallist at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games in men’s singles WH 2 (Wheelchair 2 Sport Class), Daniel has been ranked in the top two of the world ranking over the last four years.

Daniel became a BWF “i am badminton” Integrity Programme Ambassador in 2020.

His goal is to working closely with the Commission to optimize the existing system and try to bring our players a better Para badminton world.

Cathrine Rosengren (DEN)

Elected to the Commission in 2022, Cathrine has played badminton since she was around nine years old. She has always played able-bodied badminton in Denmark at a high level.

Cathrine started playing Para badminton in 2016 and she has seen a huge development in the sport since then.

A Paralympian – Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games – Cathrine in SU 5 Sport Class in Tokyo.

Since she started playing Para badminton she has been a part of the top players in the world in hr Sport Class. Her goal is to qualify for the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games.

She would like to represent the player’s ideas and do the best for the players, to

improve the quality of tournaments and to improve the awareness and position Para badminton.

TO Man-Kei (BEL)

Elected to the Commission in 2022, Man Kei is a wheelchair athlete – WH 1 Sport Class.

To Man Kei started her international Para badminton career in 2015 and since then, her experience in competing on the international circuit has allowed her to meet and keep in touch with Para badminton players from all over the world. With her multilingual skills, she is able to effectively communicate with players from both European and Asian backgrounds.

Over the next four years she her goal is to listen to the voices and opinions of players and represent these in her work in the Para badminton Athlete’s Commission.

Amy Burnett (USA)

Elected to the Commission in 2022, Amy is a wheelchair athlete – WH 1 Sport Class.
Through her experience as a Wheelchair Basketball player for the University of Alabama and competing in Wheelchair Tennis and now Para badminton, Amy brings a strong background in wheelchair sports.

Amy was appointed to the USA Badminton Board of Directors in 2021 as well as being a member of the Athlete Advisory Committee and the High-Performance Athlete Advisory Group.

Amy is the first wheelchair Para badminton athlete in the USA, and the first wheelchair athlete and female athlete to represent the USA in Para badminton at the Para Pan Games. For the next four years, Amy sees herself as a strong voice for Para Athletes.