Top 8 Confirmed for HSBC BWF World Tour Finals

Ultimate glory awaits the top eight players and pairs who have qualified for the season-ending HSBC BWF World Tour Finals that begins 11 December in Guangzhou, China.
It is the pinnacle of the badminton season pitting the best of the best against each other as they compete for their share of the biggest prize pool ever seen in badminton – US$1.5 million.
The by-invitation HSBC BWF World Tour Finals features the top eight players and pairs who have qualified throughout the year-long HSBC Race To Guangzhou across the five badminton disciplines, with the current world champions gaining automatic entry.
The eight qualifiers in all five events were finalised after the final qualifying tournament – the Gwangju Korea Masters 2019 that concluded on Sunday 24 November 2019. A maximum of two players/pairs from each Member Association can qualify.

Men’s Singles

Number Name Country World Tour Ranking
1 Kento Momota (world champion) Japan 1
2 Chou Tien Chen Chinese Taipei 2
3 Jonatan Christie Indonesia 3
4 Chen Long China 4
5 Viktor Axelsen Denmark 5
6 Anthony Sinisuka Ginting Indonesia 6
7 Anders Antonsen Denmark 7
8 Wang Tzu Wei Chinese Taipei 8


Women’s Singles

Number Name Country World Tour Ranking
1 Chen Yu Fei China 1
2 Ratchanok Intanon Thailand 2
3 Akane Yamaguchi Japan 3
4 Nozomi Okuhara Japan 4
5 Tai Tzu Ying Chinese Taipei 5
6 He Bing Jiao China 6
7 Busanan Ongbamrungphan Thailand 7
8 Pusarla V. Sindhu (world champion) India 15


Men’s Doubles

Number Name Country World Tour Ranking
1 Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo Indonesia 1
2 Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan (world champions) Indonesia 2
3 Takeshi Kamura/Keigo Sonoda Japan 3
4 Lee Yang/Wang Chi-Lin Chinese Taipei 4
5 Li Jun Hui/Liu Yu Chen China 5
6 Hiroyuki Endo/Yuta Watanabe Japan 7
7 Lu Ching Yao/Yang Po Han Chinese Taipei 8
8 Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik Malaysia 9


Women’s Doubles

Number Name Country World Tour Ranking
1 Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota Japan 1
2 Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara (world champions) Japan 2
3 Kim So Yeong/Kong Hee Yong Korea 3
4 Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan China 5
5 Greysia Polii/Apriyani Rahayu Indonesia 6
6 Du Yue/Li Yin Hui China 7
7 Lee So Hee/Shin Seung Chan Korea 8
8 Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Rawinda Prajongjai Thailand 9


Mixed Doubles

Number Name Country World Tour Ranking
1 Dechapol Puavaranukroh/Sapsiree Taerattanachai Thailand 1
2 Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong (world champions) China 2
3 Praveen Jordan/Melati Daeva Oktavianti Indonesia 3
4 Wang Yi Lyu/Huang Dong Ping China 4
5 Chan Peng Soon/Goh Liu Ying Malaysia 5
6 Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino Japan 6
7 Hafiz Faizal/Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja Indonesia 7
8 Seo Seung Jae/Chae YuJung Korea 8


Defending HSBC BWF World Tour Finals winners Pusarla V. Sindhu (women’s singles), Li Jun Hui/Liu Yu Chen (men’s doubles), and Wang Yi Lyu/Huang Dong Ping (mixed doubles) are back at another shot at glory, while world No.1 Kento Momota will be seeking his second Finals trophy after winning the Dubai World Superseries Finals in 2015.

Pusarla was assured of her spot despite being in 15th place as one spot in each category is reserved for the current world champions.

Last year’s women’s doubles champions and Rio 2016 gold medallists, Misaki Matsutomo/Ayaka Takahashi, have missed out as they are the third Japanese pair in the top eight. Compatriots Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota topped the rankings, followed by world champions Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara.

The stunning city of Guangzhou is the spiritual home of the season-ending finale and will stage the Finals until the end of 2021.

This high-stakes showdown appeals to fans and audiences across the globe as badminton’s revolutionary new concept promises to deliver the most electric competition of the year.

It caps off an exciting second year in the partnership between the Badminton World Federation and its Principal Global Partner and title sponsor of the World Tour, HSBC.
The draw for the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals 2019 will be held at the Magnolia Room, Level 3, at the LN Garden Hotel on Monday 9 December from 10.30am.

The HSBC BWF World Tour Finals 2019 Press Conference will be conducted immediately following the conclusion of the draw, with an Open Media Day taking place on Tuesday 10 December.

The 2019 Player of the Year Awards will also be announced at the annual Gala Dinner on Monday evening, 9 December. Nominees for the awards will be announced later this week.