Odette Assembe Engoulou Elected IOC Member

Odette Assembe Engoulou

Odette Assembe Engoulou, President of the Cameroon National Badminton Federation, was elected one of ten new IOC Members at the 134th IOC Session.

The group of new IOC Members is composed of seven Individual Members and three Members whose election is linked to a function within a National Olympic Committee (NOC) or a Continental Association of NOCs.

Four women and three men make up the group of seven new Individual Members, while the Members linked to a function within an NOC or a Continental Association of NOCs are three men, chosen in close consultation with the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC).

Apart from serving as President of the national federation since 2012, Engoulou is Vice-President, Cameroon National Olympic and Sports Committee; Council member of Badminton Confederation of Africa, and President, Women’s Committee of the Badminton Association for French-Speaking Countries.

Engoulou participated in the 2018 Olympic in Action Forum, and the Women in Sport Forum in Botswana and Rwanda.

The seven Individual Members are: Odette Assembe Engoulou (Cameroon), Spyros Capralos (Greece), Laura Chinchilla (Costa Rica), Matlohang Moiloa-Ramoqopo (Lesotho), Filomena Fortes (Cape Verde), Tidjane Thiam (Cote d’Ivoire) and Erick Thohir (Indonesia).


Featured image: Odette Assembe Engoulou (right) with the other new members and IOC President Thomas Bach (centre).