Japan Gunning for Exclusive Title, China Eyes Sudirman Cup No. 11

Japan and China head into the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup 2019 as the two strongest teams in contention for the title.

China, in Group 1D with India and Malaysia, face the prospect of regaining the trophy in front of an expectant home crowd in Nanning. China will be aiming for their 11th title overall.

Top seeds Japan, who are in Group 1A with Thailand and Russia, face a different set of pressures. With Tokyo 2020 on the horizon, every major event carries enormous significance to fans of the team.

The official TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup 2019 Press Conference will be held at the Guangxi Sports Centre on Saturday 18 May. The following coaches and players will be in attendance:

TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup 2019 Press Conference

Press Conference Room @ Guangxi Sports Centre

10am – Welcome by BWF President Poul-Erik Høyer

10.15am – Tournament Media Briefing

Japan Park Joo Bong (head coach) | Yuta Watanabe
Thailand Rexy Mainaky (head coach) | Sapsiree Taerattanachai


Denmark Kenneth Jonassen (head coach) | Mia Blichfeldt
India Kidambi Srikanth


China Xia Xuanze (singles coach) | Jia Yifan
Korea Ahn Jae Chang (head coach) | An Se Young


Having never won the World Mixed Team Championships, the Japanese will believe that they have their best shot at the title this year, for they have top-notch players and pairings in all five categories.

The two frontrunners apart, there are a few teams capable of making a strong pitch for the title.

Indonesia will fancy the historical significance of the Sudirman Cup this year – for it was 30 years ago that they won their one and only title.

Chinese Taipei have a strong all-round squad, with women’s singles No.1 Tai Tzu Ying leading the challenge.

Defending champions Korea will count themselves unlucky after singles spearheads Son Wan Ho and Sung Ji Hyun were injured recently. They will hope that their young players can step up.

Only three teams have won the Sudirman Cup – Indonesia (once), Korea (four times) and China (10 times).

Here are the official groupings:

Group 1

Group A: Japan, Thailand, Russia

Group B: Indonesia, Denmark, England

Group C: Chinese Taipei, Korea, Hong Kong

Group D: China, India, Malaysia

Group 2

Group A: Netherlands, France, USA, Vietnam

Group B: Germany, Canada, Singapore, Israel

Group 3

Group A: Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Nepal

Group B: Switzerland, Sri Lanka, Slovakia, Lithuania

Group 4

Macau, Greenland, Kazakhstan