Athletes’ Commission Elections Start


Athletes’ Commission Elections Start

The email voting period for the Athletes’ Commission elections starts today, 26 April 2017 and extends for a month until Wednesday 24 May 2017.

Eligible athletes can vote by email over the next month. Furthermore those competing at the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup on the Gold Coast Australia in May, can vote at the competition venue in person on 24 May 2017.

Please see the Athletes’ Commission page of the BWF website, for the letter from the Chair of the Commission about the elections, the candidate profiles and to see who is eligible to vote. The BWF memo sent out on 26 April describes this process.

Candidates for Elections 

Nominations for the BWF Athletes’ Commission Elections closed at midnight on 27 March 2017. At the close of nominations, nine (9) valid nominations had been received – and these are (in alphabetical by the first name):

  1. Akville Stapusaityte – LIT
  2. Edwin Ekiring – UGA
  3. Koo Kien Keat– MAS
  4. Kirsty Gilmour – SCO
  5. Luis Ramon Garrido Esquivel – MEX
  6. Marc Zwiebler – GER
  7. Nikhar Garg- IND
  8. Pusarla V. Sindhu – IND
  9. Yoo Yeon Seong – KOR


Please download the profiles of the candidates for elections to the BWF Athletes’ Commission.