Nominations Open for Athletes’ Commission

The BWF has invited nominations for elections to the BWF Athletes’ Commission, which will have three vacant positions from May 2017.

The elections will be held on 24 May 2017 during the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup in Gold Coast, Australia. The three positions will be vacated by members whose terms are expiring this year – Yuhan Tan (Belgium), Greysia Polii (Indonesia) and Hans-Kristian Solberg Vittinghus. The three new elected members will have a four-year term (2017-2021) and will join current members Koen Ridder (Netherlands), Tang Yuanting (China) and Shintaro Ikeda (Japan). As the Athletes’ Commission cannot have two positions from the same member association, nominations cannot be received from Netherlands, China and Japan.

Nominations can be made by active players or a member association.

Elections will take place by email from 26 April to 24 May. Players at the Sudirman Cup can vote in person at the competition venue on 24 May from 9am to 8pm (local time).

Following the elections, the Commission will elect a new Chair who will become a BWF Council member.

Click here for more information