BWF Player of the Year Award Regulations – Enhanced Player Awards for 2024

Further to our announcement of the Nominees for the Player of the Year Awards 2023 (linked here), please find some information on the enhanced system for BWF Player of the Year Awards. The new enhanced system aims to:

  1. Increase prestige and appeal of the annual player awards.
  2. Provide a more transparent system of counting and voting to determine winners.
  3. Increased player participation – voting for their peers.
  4. Improve the ceremony – a celebrate at a star-studded event each December.

Enhanced Player of the Year Awards Introduced

 The amended Award Regulations were approved by Council on 11 November, and the regulations came into effect today (link here – amended Award Regulations).

Dates / Ceremony

  1. Eligibility Period – 1 December to 30 November the following year.
  2. Nominees – announced on 1 December each year.
  3. Ceremony – awards are presented at the Gala Dinner – BWF World Tour Finals.


Here are a few summary points on the changes for players awards for badminton.

Player Awards (Badminton)

1. Five Marquee Awards for Badminton – they recognise the best player / pair for 1) men’s singles, 2) women’s singles, 3) men’s doubles, 4) women’s doubles and 5) mixed doubles.

  • Winners will be decided by a) their average world ranking across the 12-month eligibility period and b) points awarded to the top 3 players at each of 12 tournaments. An expert panel choose the top 3 players / pairs in each discipline based on criteria, and points are awarded to those players which will be compiled in a tally at the end of the year (see the Awards Regulations for details).


2. Two additional Awards

  • Players’ Player of the year Award (Men)
  • Players’ Player of the year Award (Women)
  • Players decide the winners. Players vote for the winner in October / November each year.
  • This will engage players more in the awards system.


3. Eddy Choong Rising Star of the Year Award.

  • This has a change of name (Rising Star) and an age limit.
  • Nominees must be under 22 as at 1 December of that year.


4. One award is discontinued – the Most Improved Player of the Year. This will not be awarded after this year and it has been taken out of the Award Regulations.


Please find attached an overview of the main changes to the Award Regulations.

See the specific Award Regulations for the detail of each (link here).

More Information / Contact Person

If you have further questions, please contact Stuart Borrie (Chief Operating Officer) at: [email protected]