Candidate Profiles | Register to Vote Para Badminton Athletes’ Commission

Further to our announcement of the candidates for elections of 28 January, please find an update on the Para Badminton Athletes’ Commission elections 2022.

Please pass this information to all your Para badminton players.

Key Information –  Commission Elections

  1. There are 6 positions to be filled / 10 candidates (see the profiles)
  2. Elections take place on 11 March 2022 (1700 – 2200 KL time).
  3. Voting is only online.
  4. Eligible athletes must first register to vote (Click on the link to register to vote). Who are “eligible athletes” – who can vote?
  • Para badminton players who are 18 years of age or older as at 11 March 2021.
  • In ‘good standing’ with their Member Association / Not serving a period of ineligibility under the BWF Statutes.
  • Be an “active player” (on the Para badminton World Ranking List of 20 December 2021).
  • Have registered to vote by the deadline – 48 hours before the elections.


  1. The registration form is in 8 languages English, Spanish, French, Indonesian, Chinese, Korean, Thai and Japanese. Click on the dropdown menu top right.
  2. See more information in these languages: Spanish, French, Indonesian, Chinese, Korean, Thai and Japanese.

Candidate for the PBAC Commission Elections

Here are the candidates for the elections – profiles are on the website:

Key Points on the Athletes’ Commission Elections

About the Commission

  • 6 positions to be filled at the elections.
  • 4 year term for the new Athletes’ Commission (2022 – 2025).
  • The new Commission elects the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Athletes’ Commission.
  • The Chair of the Commission then becomes a BWF Council member for 4 years.
  • Have registered to vote by the deadline – 48 hours before the elections.


How will the Elections Work?

The elections will be conducted electronically. The poll will be open for “registered voters” at  17:00 KL time (1000 AM Central European Time (CET), and close at 22:00 KL time (15:00 CET) on Friday 11 March 2022.

Clause 10.1.4 of the Guidelines for Council and Executive Board and Committees states “The outcome of the election, wherever possible, shall include in the following order: 1) at least one male and one female athlete, 2) at least one person from a wheelchair Sport Class and one person from a standing Sport Class and 3) athletes from at least three continental confederation regions”.

This principle will be applied to the election results – gender / sport class (wheelchair and stand) / athletes from 3 different regions.

Key Dates and Actions towards the Election

28 January – 9 March Election Campaign.
4 February – 9 March Registration to Vote closes 17:00 KL time 9 March.
Friday 11 March 2022 Elections – start at 17:00 KL time (10:00am CET)