Athletes’ Commission Elections

BWF would like to give notice that at the close of nominations on 29 March, BWF had received three nominations, however one nominee did not meet the eligibility criteria.

Since there are only two candidates for the three positions available, there is no need to have an election as planned in Nanning next month.

The BWF therefore gives notice that the two eligible candidates are considered ‘elected’ to the Athletes’ Commission with their two year term starting on Wednesday 22 May 2019, the day after the date for which the elections (on site in Nanning) were due to  take place.

The two members of the BWF Athletes’ Commission (as at 22 May 2019) are:

  • Peter Briggs (ENG)
  • Ville Lång – (FIN)


The newly elected commission will join the current members whose term expires in 2021:

  • Marc Zwiebler (GER)
  • Kirsty Gilmour (SCO)
  • Pusarla V. Sindhu (IND)


In May 2021, all six positons will become vacant and elections will be held for the Commission for a four year term 2021 – 2025.