BWF Council

The elections for the BWF Council (2021 – 2025) were held at the 82nd BWF Annual General Meeting, held virtually on Saturday 22 May 2021.

Elections for the positions of BWF President, Deputy President and Vice President Para Badminton, and 20 ordinary Council positions were successfully completed. The following were elected unopposed:

  • Poul-Erik Høyer – BWF President
  • KhunyingPatama Leeswadtrakul – Deputy President
  • Paul Kurzo – Vice President Para Badminton


The continental BWF Vice Presidents for Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania and Pan Am were not up for election, and these positions will be elected in the first quarter of 2023. The continuation of these eight top leadership positions ensures continuity for the BWF Council moving forward into the new term to 2025.

BWF Council 2021 – 2025

President | Poul-Erik Høyer

Deputy President | Khunying Patama Leeswadtrakul

Vice President – Para-Badminton | Paul Kurzo

Vice President – Africa | Michel Bau

Vice President – Asia | Jassem Kanso

Vice President – Europe | João Matos

Vice President – Oceania | Geraldine Brown

Vice President – Pan Am | Vishu Tolan

Chair – Athletes Commission | Marc Zwiebler

Chair Of Para Badminton Athletes’ Commission | Richard Perot

  • Bambang (Rudy) Roedyanto (INA)
  • Chipo Zumburani (ZIM)
  • David Cabello (ESP)
  • Ella Diehl (RUS)
  • Emma Penelope Mason (SCO)
  • Etienne Thobois (FRA)
  • Himanta Biswa Sarma (IND)
  • Jong Soo, Kim (KOR)
  • Jose Gabriel del Busto Fernandez (GUA)
  • Jun, Zhang (CHN)
  • Kenny (Chee Keong), Goh (MAS)
  • Kinji Zeniya (JPN)
  • Nigel Skelt (NZL)
  • Nora Perry (ENG)
  • Odette Assembe Engoulou (CMR)
  • Pilar Carrillo la Fuente (PER)
  • Robbert de Kock (SUI)
  • Rukhshona Narzulloeva (TJK)
  • Sawsan Haji Mohammed Taqawi (BRN)
  • Sven Serré (BEL)